top of page

Starting new job at Humboldt Institute

I am happy to share that I recently started a new job at the Humboldt Research Institute in Bogotá, Colombia. I will be leading the Chapman Project funded by Colombia's Ministry of Science and in collaboration with the Universidad Nacional de Colombia, UniAndes, Universidad Javeriana de Cali, American Museum of Natural History, and Cornell. We will be re-surveying sites that were surveyed by Frank Chapman's team between 1910-1915. We will survey the bird communities, collect specimens to run genetic analyses, and use this information to share with the local communities and design a bird-watching tourism business model when appropriate. I am excited for this new adventure and hope to contribute to improving knowledge and conservation of birds in my home country.

bottom of page